top of page

Abdulaziz Saud Albabtain Award for Poetic Creativity

This competition is divided into several different categories, all of which are related to Arabic Poetry and Poetic Criticism. The winners of this Award receive their awards as follows:

1- The Poetic Creativity Award in Criticism:

The value of this award is forty thousand dollars.

It is awarded to a distinguished poetry critic or scholar who has made a significant contribution in analyzing poetic texts or presented a new perspective on a specific poetic phenomenon based on scientific foundations.

The applicant must specify only one of their works that they nominate for the award. The nominated works must not be master's or doctoral theses and should not have been published for more than ten years.


2- Best Poetry Collection Award (Best Diwan):

The value of this award is twenty thousand dollars.

It is awarded to the author of the best poetry collection published within the previous five years preceding the competition.

The participant should submit only one poetry collection, provided that this poetry collection has been previously published.


3- Best Poem Award:

The value of this award is ten thousand dollars.

The award is given to the author of the best published poem in a literary journal, newspaper, poetry collection, or an independent book within a period of two years.

Participants are allowed to submit only one poem.

4- Honorary Award for Poetic Creativity:

The value of this award is fifty thousand dollars.

The award is granted to a poet who has contributed to enriching the Arab poetry movement.

This award is not subject to judging or the judging committee of the Award, but follows a special mechanism overseen by the Chairman of the Board of Trustees.

Only members of the Foundation’s Board of Trustees are eligible to nominate candidates.


5- Youth Award for Best Poetry Collection:

The value of this award is ten thousand dollars.


6- Youth Award for Best Poem:

The value of this award is five thousand dollars.

The work must have been previously published in a print publication.

Conditions for Participating in the Competition:

  1. Submissions are only accepted in classical Arabic language.

  2. Each participant may apply to only one category of the award.

  3. The applicant must submit eight copies of their work for consideration.

  4. Collaborative works involving more than one person are not accepted.

  5. The applicant should send a direct letter to the Foundation expressing their desire to nominate themselves for one of the award categories. They must specify the work they are submitting for the competition. Universities and government or private cultural institutions are allowed to nominate individuals, provided that a written consent from the nominee is included.

  6. The applicant should submit their independent curriculum vitae, separate from the nomination letter, which includes: nickname, full name as stated in the passport, date and place of birth, postal address, telephone number, creative works, and three recent passport-sized photographs (10cm x 15cm).

  7. Previous winners of any Arab award are not eligible to apply to the same category until three years have passed since their win. If they choose to apply, they must submit a different work than the one for which they received the previous award. The applicant must clearly state in the nomination letter that the submitted work has not won any Arab award. If evidence to the contrary is found, the Foundation reserves the right to invalidate the applicant's submission as well as his complete results.

  8. Individuals who have served as judges for the Foundation’s awards, or have been parts of any of the Foundation’s arbitration committees, are not permitted to participate in the competition before the lapse of two cycles from the date of their judging involvement.

  9. The Foundation is not obligated to return submitted works, and it has the right to republish the winning poems and selections from the winners' works.

bottom of page