top of page
Mr. Farouk Shousha

Born in Egypt in 1936.

Graduated from the Faculty of Dar Al-Uloom, Cairo University in 1956, and from the Faculty of Education, Ain Shams University in 1957.

Obtained a master's degree in Arabic language and literature.

Engaged in teaching early in his career.

Became the head of the Egyptian Radio Authority from 1994 to 1997.

President of the Authors and Composers Association from 1992 to 2000.

President of the Writers Union in Egypt from 1999 to 2001.

Professor of Literary Studies at the American University from 1986 to 2006.

Professor of Literary Appreciation and Oratory at the Faculty of Mass Communication, Cairo University from 1982 to 1986.

Secretary-General of the Academy of the Arabic Language in Egypt.

Member of the Poetry and Literary Studies Committees in the Supreme Council of Culture.

Member of the Board of Directors of the National Library and Archives Authority in Egypt.

His Literary Works Include:

"To a Traveler" (1966)

"The Burnt Eyes" (1972)

"Pearl in the Heart" (1973)

"Waiting for What Never Comes" (1979)

"The Sealed Circle" (1983)

"Language of Lovers' Blood" (1986)

"Arab Blood Says" (1988),

"Twenty Love Poems" (1989)

"I Got Prepared for You" (1992)

"Lady of the Water" (1994)

"A Time for Seizing Time" (1996)

"Ebony Face" (2000)

"The Beauty Descends to the River" (2003)

"Poetic Works" (2004)

"I Love You to Tears" (2005)

"A Baghdadi Melody" (2007)

"Spring of the Autumn of Life" (2008)

Mr. Farouk Shousha
bottom of page